Lifetime Achievement Award

The NCSE Lifetime Achievement Award is given to an individual in recognition of his/her exceptionally meritorious contribution to science and the environment.


Previous Winners

2018Edward Mazria, Founder and CEO, Architecture 2030
Robert B. Semple, Jr, Associate Editor of the Editorial Page, the New York Times
2017Dr. Philip Landrigan, Dean for Global Health, Mount Sinai School of Medicine
Dr. Thomas E. Lovejoy, University Professor of Environmental Science and Policy, George Mason University
2016Rita Colwell, Distinguished Professor, University of Maryland and Former Director, NSF
Veerabhadran “Ram” Ramanathan, Distinguished Professor, Scripps Institution of Oceanography
2015Stephen Hubbell, Distinguished Professor, University of California, Los Angeles
2014Co-founders, U.S. Global Change Research Program:
Robert Corell, Principal, Global Environment Technology Foundation
J. Michael Hall, Federal Senior Executive Services (Ret.); Former Director, Office of Global Programs, NOAA
Shelby Tilford, Former Chief Scientist, Orbital Sciences Corporation
Aristides A. N. Patrinos, Deputy Director for Research, Center for Urban Science and Progress, New York University’s Polytechnic Institute
Jack D. Fellows, Director, Climate Change Science Institute, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
2013Jane Lubchenco, Under Secretary of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere and Administrator, NOAA
2012Gro Harlem Brundtland, former Prime Minister of Norway and Director-General, World Health Organization
2011Dr. Sylvia Earle, Explorer-in-residence, National Geographic; Founder, Mission Blue; Chairman & CEO, Sylvia Earle Alliance
2010James Gustave Speth, Distinguished Senior Fellow, Demos, New York City; Professor of Law, Vermont Law School; and Dean Emeritus, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies
2009George Rabb, President Emeritus, Chicago Zoological Society
Peter H. Raven, Director, Missouri Botanical Garden
Edward O. Wilson, Pellegrino Research Professor Emeritus, Harvard University
2007Robert W. Corell, Global Change Director, The H. John Heinz III Center for Science, Economics and the Environment
2006Theo Colborn, President, The Endocrine Disruption Exchange
Herbert Needleman, Professor of Child Psychiatry and Pediatrics, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
2005Russell Train, Chairman Emeritus, World Wildlife Fund; First Chair, Council on Environmental Quality; Former Administrator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
2004William D. Ruckelshaus, First and Fifth Administrator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
2003Ruth Patrick, Francis Boyer Chair of Limnology, Academy of Natural Sciences in Philadelphia; Adjunct Professor, University of Pennsylvania
M. Gordon “Reds” Wolman, B. Howell Griswold Jr. Professor of Geography and International Affairs, The Johns Hopkins University
2002Honorable Gaylord Nelson, Former Governor of Wisconsin and U.S. Senator (Ret.); Founder of Earth Day, Counselor of The Wilderness Society
2001Maurice F. Strong, Senior Advisor to the United Nations Secretary-General



%d bloggers like this: